Why “God isn’t Great”

Christopher Hitchens seems to really want to end up angering almost every community on earth.

I was listening to the NY Times Book review podcast last night and he was giving an interview about his new book “Why God isn’t great”.

It’s a similar book to Bertrand Russell’s “Why I Am Not a Christian”, he makes the case against religion.

He talks about why religion is man-made, dangerously sexually repressive and distorts the very origins of the cosmos. He clearly is out to make friends and influence people. He recently became an American and seems to want to make his mark by completly shooting down everything they hold dear.

He explained on the podcast that every presidential candidate seems to have to make a profession of faith but the American’s feel that there should be a separation of church and state. He also talked about how he’d recently visited a truly faith based society- North Korea. He’s a fascinating man and I’m not going to judge him from a podcast, I’ll need to read the book. But we’d probably have a lot of common ground.

For me personally I live a life which is both secular and faith based. It’s a blend of reason and beliefs. I’m not sure if hell exists or not but we can peer out into the inky abyss through the power of the Hubble Telescope. For me being alone in space would something akin to being in hell. I’ve got the same sense of awe when I look down a microscope at genetic material that I imagine Moses had when he first saw the burning bush.

I’m very interested in the possibility of society without religion. For me “religion” is the problem, not faith. I agree that the concept and interpretation of an omniscient God has profoundly damaged humanity- but that has more to do with the people who follow the rules and dictates of that omniscient God than God.

Hitchens proposes that the world might be a great deal better off without `him’. I think we’d be better off if we individually reapproached the idea of the divine, found ways of touching something that inspires awe and wonder in our lives.

This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

