The Missionary Position.

So… here’s a confession: I used to be a missionary; a proper travelling missionary zipping round Europe and Eurasia working with students, enabling them to share their faith whilst sharing mine.

I know that will sound like one of the oddest things I’ve ever said but it’s true. I can’t deny a few years of my life.

My job was supposed to be winning souls to Christ but this didn’t really sit too well with me. How does one save a soul? The Fray sing about the question “how to save a life?”, I guess I didn’t have the answer. Not sure I do, even now.

As a post modern post evangelical poster boy I spent most of my time debating ideas, concepts and authenticity rather than preaching a specific dogma or orthodoxy. In short I didn’t feel much of a missionary. As part of a theatre company embodying questions about life we’d deconstruct long held ideas through physical theatre. (And it wasn’t as wanky as that sounds) It was challenging, stirring stuff; as one stoned student in Denmark put it “You really know how to kill someone’s buzz”.

The guys I worked with wanted to know what my missiology was (and to tell the truth I had to look that word up) at the time I mumbled about sharing faith or being provocative or something. Now I can answer that question a little better. It’s about going beyond mere belief in commands and into a life that’s in rhythm with God (whatever you understand God to be). And if everyone does that something like the kingdom of heaven (that place of mustard seed faith, wise virgin preparation, lost sheep searching and a welcome for kids that come home) will happen here on earth.

This entry was posted in Faith, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

