How do you keep in touch with your spiritual life?

I’ve mercilessly ripped off the question from here.

For me it’s an interesting question as I often get asked by people, why do you continue with your faith. Particularly when a senior member of the Church of England says that gays should “repent and be changed”. Cosmodaddy points out the point that Peter Tatchell made about how odd it feels for an Asian Christian to be spouting a message that is less than loving towards gays considering the racial prejudice he himself must have felt.

The sad thing for me is that so many people see what the Bishop of Rochester has said as being reflective of views of the whole of the Church Family, of all Christians.

Maybe I am a minority within the Christian faith and should just throw in the towel, admit defeat & go agnostic. But it’s not my faith in God that gets shaken in these times, it’s my faith in the followers of God that gets a bashing.

Anyway, that’s not what I wanted to blog about.

I wanted to talk about how I keep in touch with my spiritual life.

Unsurprisingly the most nourishing faith experiences I have are usually to be found outside of a church.

I find Greenbelt really interesting. Someone I know described it (badly) as being “lots of middle class Christians looking down their noses at each other”. I disagree with that assessment. I’ve always found it to be a welcoming place, curious and always seeking to engage in interesting discussion.

I find music especially nourishing for me spiritually. And I find Non-Christian music to be sometimes more spiritual than so-called Spiritual music. I’m currently having my spirit nourished by the vibes of Andrew Bird.

Bird manages to present one of the most personally acurrate visions of Heaven for me. It doesn’t tie up with any official vision of heaven & includes one act of cruelty to animals which does worry me slightly but it fits so beautifully. But not only does this tie in with my vision of heaven it also speaks to a time beyond the current financial crisis.

I know we’re gonna meet someday in the crumbled financial institutions of this land
there will be tables and chairs
pony rides and dancing bears
there’ll even be a band
’cause listen after the fall there’ll be no more countries
no currencies at all
we’re gonna live on our wits
throw away survival kits
trade butterfly knives for adderal
and that’s not all
woah!
there will be snacks, there will
there will be snacks!

I can’t stop myself listening to this song on repeat. I love the optimism and the quirky idea that if your friends aren’t enough to convince you this is a beautiful place, the pony rides, the dancing bear, the band can’t convince you the fact that they’ve laid on snacks might just press the right button in your mind and you’ll take my hand & join me at the party.

This entry was posted in Ben Whitehouse, Faith, greenbelt and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

