Short Story: Thanks!

Brass band, banner, smiling people, streamers, cheering.

I’d just stepped out the door to the building where I work as a wage slave doing data entry. There was a crowd of people more suited to a protest or picket, lurking. I made a move to step round them but each move I made was matched by this cheering, whooping crowd. I stepped right, they matched, left, matched.

One more mature black woman, hair back in a bun, came up to me, gently squeezed my arm and said “Well done, good and faithful one”.

Her face was obscured by my tears.

This entry was posted in Ben Whitehouse, short story, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

