Day 9 of the book buying ban.

Today has been a difficult day for me.

I’ve been tempted by a number of books and one specifically.

I’ve been looking closely at the line up for Greenbelt and putting together my annual list on amazon of stuff appearing at the festival. (It’s quite popular each year and also means I can gather “helpful” votes from it) There’s lots of really interesting people who’ve published interesting books.

I must confess that I was specifically tempted by Maggi Dawn’s new book: The Writing on the Wall: High Art, Popular Culture and the Bible, it comes out in June. (I must confess I didn’t know she had a new book coming out. And I didn’t know that it’d tempt me so deeply. I know that it’ll be in the bookshop at the festival and my venue, the hub, is right next to the bookshop.)

I have a deep love and affection for Maggi. She’s dizzyingly intelligent and deeply cool. (There’s a lot of people involved with Greenbelt who occupy headspace marked “Deeply Cool”.) Her writing always inspires me to do a bit of a double take on my faith. I asked a question a few years ago at the festival about feeling like I didn’t have a rich faith heritage having grown up evangelical. I didn’t (and still don’t) when to sit, stand, kneel in church. I don’t know the proper way to cross yourself. I guess that in the eyes of “”traditional church goers” I do church badly. But I do church my way and in a way that’s faithful and truthful to how my faith expresses itself. Anyhoo… she replied very gently that it didn’t matter that I felt this way, I could pick and choose the bits that worked for me in the same way I could rummage about in the loft to find old bric-a-brac and goodies my Granny had stashed away. That’s always stayed with me, I still rummage about in my faith and in the Christian Tradition.

That was all a bit off topic, eh? My main fear is that Maggi, the book and I will all be at the festival together at the same time. I reckon she’ll probably be signing the books too and that makes my skin itch knowing I won’t be able to buy the book.

This entry was posted in Ben Whitehouse, book buying ban, greenbelt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 9 of the book buying ban.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 9 of the book buying ban. « White like milk -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review « White like milk

Leave a Reply

