Day 63 of the (Stupid) Book Buying Ban

Today is a wobbly day.

Lots of coverage from the Hay Festival. Authors talking about books, making lists of books they love, books they suggest you own.

I just want to buy a book. I just want a new book that I’ve spent my money on. But I can’t. Because of my own stupid enjoyment of rules.

This entry was posted in book buying ban, books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 63 of the (Stupid) Book Buying Ban

  1. LL says:

    Hang on in there. Think of your sense of acheivement. I’ve just put my books back in order following a leaky roof some time ago. Wonderful to relish in the titles I already own and long to re-read. But unitl then I too am working through the pile of unread ones by my bed.

    It is amazing though how reading is like a good meal sometimes you just have a taste for certain type of book and at others another. It can take weeks to get round to something that looked interesting.

    What about a book of the Bible you’ve not read before?

    • Ben W says:

      I seem to be jumping all over my collection. Just re-read Agatha Christie’s “And then there were none” over two days and really enjoyed it’s slightly dated, creaky loveliness.

      Does it make me a really bad Christian to say that I’d not even thought about dipping into a bit of the Bible I don’t normally hang out in. That could be really interesting. I’ll give it a whirl.

Leave a Reply

