Six months…

The End of September is finally here.

It doesn’t feel that long ago I first launched the idea of not buying books for six months.

The me that set off on this bizzaro quest actually feels like a different person. He’s clearly not thought out the terms of being an addict. He thinks that Greenbelt isn’t going to happen because it’s a few months away. He’s a funny guy, funny man!

In the last six months I have sort of deliberately avoided book shops. I’ve bought a couple of book tokens for nephews and nieces and not felt the need to buy books. I’ve found the uncreased spines of books alluring and the smell of new books has been a temptation.

I’ve managed my Amazon Wishlists into submission and borrowed books from the library. I’ve turned my book buying habit into a music buying habit.

People asked me today what I was going to buy as my first book after the ban. Here’s a link to Douglas Coupland’s new novel: Player One. I’m very excited.  

Here’s the post I wrote on day one.

Once I’ve got the Coupland Novel I’m going to reinstate the book buying ban. I’m going to continue with another six moths to April the 1st 2011.

This entry was posted in Ben Whitehouse, book buying ban, books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Six months…

  1. Oooh Ben. This wasn’t what I was expecting at all at the end of the 6 months. I thought you would be seen walking out of book shops laden down with shiney new paperbacks!

    However, I do admire your book ban stamina, and I wish you every success for the next six months 🙂

  2. Peter Debney says:

    Six days without a new book is bad enough, but six months is a scary thought.
    Mind you, a man on the train yesterday confessed to me that he has not read a book since the 80s…

  3. LL says:

    Good on you. Enjoy Coupland and the renewed vigour it will give you to keep going until April.

Leave a Reply

