Day 03 – a song that makes you happy: Ingrid Michaelson- The Chain (live from Webster Hall)

(Yes, I know that I’ve skipped Day 2. Day two will come later…)

This song makes me impossibly happy. It’s both the form and the content.

Partly it’s the first line: “The sky looks pissed..” Any song that kicks off like that gets my vote.

I also like that it speaks of the possibility of redemption and being subject to one another. I like the idea of promising “not to promise any more”; it’s far too easy to promise things to people and not mean it. I also like the notion of awaiting the return of someone you care about so you’ll “take the chain from off the door”. It’s a sweet gesture of absolute trust. I like the idea that someone feels safe enough to leave the chain off the door, it shows trust in the world and a faith that the world won’t come and break in and also faith that the person being sung to will come home.

I like the prominence of the cello in the song. Such a sad sounding instrument that has a texture like brown corduroy.

My real sublime happiness with the song comes from it being a round. It taps into the part of my brain that likes to hit repeat on a song I love. Back round we go to the start and feel those feelings again. Three voices singing the same thing round and round and overlapping and blending.

Makes me smile every time.

This entry was posted in Arts, Ben Whitehouse, Brain Crack, music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

