Disingenious Reviews

Turns out that disingenious reviews get my goat.

Didn’t realise they did until I saw one.

Most people approach review work (which I’ve had some experience of over the years) with an open mind and an honest approach. When I lived in Oxford for a couple of years I was asked a couple of times to write a review for a show in which people I knew were performing. I turned those down because I didn’t want an accusation of bias.

Presenting a review without saying “It might help if you know that my wife/son/husband/mother/bestmate wrote/directed/lit/starred/costumed the show” is deeply disingenious. It breaks an unwritten code in my head.

</rant over>

This entry was posted in Arts, Ben Whitehouse, review, stuff, theatre. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

